NMSC 수학과학경시대회

AKCSE_NMC2018_Poster_20180325.jpg
 
 

AKCSE National Math & Science Competition 2018 Announcement

The Association of Korean-Canadian Scientists and Engineers (www.akcse.org) is pleased to announce that the National Math and Science Competition (NMSC) 2018 will be held on May 5, 2018. The goal of the NMSC is to promote their interest in mathematic/science and careers in the fields of science and engineering.

Students, parents and guardians who are interested in the NMSC2018 should contact chapter representatives for registration in respective chapter areas.


Canadian school math teachers are invited to make questions. Some of questions and answers will be released after the exam.


1. Important items
Date & Time

  • Date: May 5, 2018, Time: As determined by each participating chapter
  • Math Competition (Calculators are allowed)
    • 60 Minutes for Grades 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8; 90 Minutes for Grades 9, 10, and 11
  • Science Competition (depends on chapter)
    • 60 Minutes for Each Group (Grouping may vary as determined by each chapter)
  • All students must be checked in 30 minutes before the competition.

Registration

  • April 1, 2018 – April 30, 2018 (for the most chapters)

Qualification

  • Students from 4th grade to 11th grade in schools in Canada

Location

  • As determined by each participating chapter

Parents Program

  • As determined by each participating chapter

Award

  • Math National Winners: 1st, 2nd, 3rd Place
  • Science Local Winners will be determined by each chapter.
  • The result will be noticed to students by June 1, 2018 by each chapter.
  • Award ceremony date will be noticed to winners by each chapter.

2. Sample problems, instruction of math test, and information about science test

  • The exam problems will be based on Canadian curriculum. Some sample problems will be available online.
  • Some examples of assigned topics for the science competition can be obtained from your local chapter.

< Sample math test : Click here >

3. Chapter representatives for contact
Dr. Youngki Chang Atlantic youngchang@dal.ca
Mr. Jongsul Seo Mainland British Columbia (Vancouver) jongsulseo@gmail.com
Dr. Moonhyuk Kwun Southern Alberta (Calgary) moonhyukkwun@gmail.com
Dr. Hyunjoong Chung Central Alberta (Edmonton) chung3@ualberta.ca
Mr. Byoungyoul Park Manitoba ooo7park@gmail.com
Dr. Sangyong Jeon Quebec (Montreal) jeon@physics.mcgill.ca
Dr. Keun Su Kim Ottawa keunsu.kim.nrc@gmail.com
Dr. Wonjae Chang Saskatchewan wonjae.chang@usask.ca
Dr. Ohsung Kwon Greater Toronto and Lake Ontario (Toronto) os.kwon@utoronto.ca
Mr. Ilgeun Bae Southwestern Ontario (Windsor) igbae@hotmail.com
Mr. Seahyouk Song Vancouver Island and Coast (Victoria) seahsong@gmail.com


4. NMSC 2018 committee
Dr. Seokbum Ko Chair seokbum.ko@usask.ca
Ms. Jeong Ae An Administration info@akcse.org
Ms. Janet Christ Math Exam Committee christj@spsd.sk.ca
Mr. David Choi Math Exam Committee choid@fsd38.ab.ca
Dr. Taechul Moon Math Exam Committee tmoon@ualberta.ca
Dr. Younhee Choi Math Exam Committee choi.younhee@gmail.com